Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Ouch!

We have an abundance of chickadees this year which means you'll probably be seeing more of them than usual in my photos - after all, they are super cute and very fun to photograph.  This little guy/gal has some sort of foot injury and was carefully keeping its right foot tucked up against its down breast.  Fortunately, it doesn't appear to be broken and was not impacting the 'dee's ability to eat, drink, fly or sing.  So no action needed.

I've been cooking and prepping most of the day, which has been rather enjoyable.  I've chopped, diced, sauteed, shredded and kneaded.  I've made a delicious topping for the baked sweet potatoes that is cranberries, maple syrup, shallots, butter and toasted walnuts - a tasty way to dress up the 'taters.  I am dry-brining the turkey; and used the neck and "parts" along with some fresh herbs to make a rich broth which I'll use both for gravy and for the bread dressing/stuffing.  Right now, I'm waiting on some homemade yeast rolls to rise before I pop them in the oven - they will only need to be reheated tomorrow.  I've tried to get most everything done today so that I won't stress myself out tomorrow.

Happily, my bestie Ellen is going to join us for Thanksgiving.  Usually she spends the holiday in Maine with her family but travel is just too risky right now and, as she reminded me, sometimes family is the people you choose.  So it will be four of us tomorrow - me, Hubs, SIL and Ellen.  We will probably keep an window or two open and wear masks until we are ready to eat - best to err on the side of caution.

I know that for my fellow-Americans, this is going to be an odd Thanksgiving holiday.  My wish for everyone, here in the US, and around the world to continue to be safe.  Seems like everyday I learn that someone else I know has been taken ill by this virus, so please be careful!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.