Missycat

By Missycat

Day 248 Ready to go aboard!

This morning Violet had to go to school dressed as a passenger on the Titanic.  Each child was given the name of a specific person on board and received a boarding pass with that person's name and photo on it.  I hadn't realised that the Titanic, along with the Great Fire of London were history topics for Key Stage 1 pupils (ages 5-7) in the UK and did think that maybe the sinking of the Titanic was a bit grim given our current situation!  It appears however that it is approached in a way which the children enjoy and I must say that Violet did enjoy dressing up and playing the part of an Edwardian lady.  As I only had 24 hours notice and all clothing and charity shops are currently shut in England I was unable to create a suitable skirt, although the rest of the outfit works quite well, albeit with her school skirt.
I did a little research online and found  the lady that Violet was asked to portray.  Like all the people chosen Mrs Elin Hakkarainen was a survivor: she was aged 24,  Finnish and bound for  Monessen Pennsylvania.  I could even find that she was rescued from lifeboat number 15.  Sadly her husband did not make it.
In other news: tomorrow we will be told what tier we in England will be in when the current lockdown ends on 2 December.  Widely tipped to be tier 2 for us, frankly I don't think that it will make much difference to our personal lives, other than I will be able to go to the hairdresser and have my mani and pedi done!

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.