Tiers before Bedtime

Today in England (other parts of the UK differ) we learned which tier the different counties will be in when our second lockdown ends on Wednesday. I'm sure many other English blippers will be complaining that in their 'covid safe' area they've been lumped in with other parts of the county that have higher infection rates. There's nothing new about this, it was the same for many parts of the country under the earlier tier system. This time however, the higher tiers are much more widespread and only three area of the country are in thew lowest tier.

It does seem strange that the little village where I live which must be a very safe area is placed in tier 2. I don't mind particularly on a personal level but it's more a question of the way it affects our local businesses, hospitality trade particularly, who will be badly affected. It's no good grumbling, we have to work with it to keep everyone safe as we go into the difficult winter period.

I went out for a walk late this afternoon and enjoyed seeing the colour build up as the sun went down. I took a picture of the view over the river looking towards Newton Abbot in the west. I've added that image as an extra because it began to look pale as some amazing colour really came out once I'd been home a short while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.