The Song-Sparrow

Glimmers gray the leafless thicket
Close beside my garden gate,
Where, so light, from post to picket
Hops the sparrow, blithe, sedate;
Who, with meekly folded wing,
Comes to sun himself and sing.


This is verse one of a rather long (but good!) poem "The Song-Sparrow" by George Parsons-Lathrop. I took the photo this morning on the walk to my parents and it is not the best but I was limited for choice.


I'm back-Blipping on Friday morning for yesterday, having left my camera over at my parents'. I rang my Dad last night to say I'd get Grace to take me to collect it today but he said he would bring it over this morning to give my Mum a ride out in the car since that seems to be the only time she is ever happy. He just dropped it off and went as she won't come into "my" house!


I'll be back again later with today's offering.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.