From Sharjah with Love

From Sharjah, UAE to Edinburgh at the click of a mouse, this beautiful bouquet of festive flowers was delivered in a flat pack by the postie at lunch time today. My oldest granddaughter Robynn is a teacher there and sent them, as she said, to ‘lift my spirits’, and they certainly have. She had been hoping to come back to Edinburgh for Christmas to see her Mum, my Porty daughter, but the quarantine regulations have meant the trip is cancelled.

It’s been another lovely day and the Meadows have been very busy. There was very little social distancing being observed and I notice a large crowd of spectators huddled together on the side line watching a rugby match being played.

I bit the second bullet of the week and went to the gym this morning. It was outlandishly early so I felt very safe being the only person at the cardiovascular end of the floor space with a good supply of paper towels and hand gel.

With the ensuing endorphins threatening to suffocate me, I took the bus to the shopping centre with the nearest Aldi just because I haven’t been in an Aldi for at least 5 years and I wanted to see what it was offering - Stollen cake , a Christmas pudding and halloumi cheese amongst other things. I suppose the mistake was taking the bus there and then walking home up hill with the bag of shopping.

The endorphins were still circulating allowing me to come home and make a batch of custard creams and a small loaf of bread before the flowers arrived.
I don’t think I’ve had this amount of energy for several months...... must be the gym.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.