How do they know?

A gorgeous sunny morning, breakfast, fed the birds, blackbirds feasting on the holly berries & mealworm, sparrows & dunnocks clearing up the crumbs on the floor, bluetit on the fatball, pigeons ambling around, Bobby robin waiting on the fence.
I jumped in the car, I had a Pep Ventosa in mind ................ it did'nt work. Next stop the Coop,  then off to the allotment. Ah! The field next to the allotment site was being ploughed. I love watching the gulls itching to get at freshly turned soil. How do they know?? They appear from nowhere, feast on the worms, then off again.There are always distractions from the job in hand .... a phone call from Mum, hubby was trying to call me. NOW, there is nothing wrong with my phone. HE thought I was down Mum's which is why he phoned her. GRHHH! I carried on weeding the fruit patch, lifted a thuggish gooseberry bush that had a clump of grass growing up through it. Flushed all the soil from the roots, hopefully, fingers crossed removed the grass roots plus the pieces of bindweed root then replanted it. Pruned a few plants then it was time to head home. Lifted a couple of turnips, pulled some white radish, picked the last of the raspberries .... took a few more photos of the ploughing, then he was gone, field ploughed.

Faffed with the PV images .. great idea but rubbish result.

Braised lamb's heart hot pot with a crunchy sage & onion topping tonight, bubbling away while I watched Strictly 2.

The Devonshire Dough cake is very tasty

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.