The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

Ripple

Day #5 in my project, compiling a compendium of commonly used Pepper Patch Phrases in order to bridge the gap between the picture and a thousand words.

Today's phrase: "Its a Zen thing".

This generally translates as "I really can't explain why and getting technical would probably spoil it, but I like this a lot". It particularly applies to images I consider spiritual, whether that's what you intended or not.

It's always a compliment and usually is accompanied by a heart or a star if I'm out.

Today's backstory. This has always been a favorite image of mine and this morning, since we're limited in where we can go and what we can do, I matted it as a print to give my wife (the Divine Ms Connie) for her birthday.

Now, in my family we have a tradition that I always thought was a little strange and perhaps unique to either the Grenon/Ross or Reading/Church branches on the family tree. On your birthday, we put a dab of butter on your nose. This morning it was Connie's turn.

Doing some research it turns out that though it's hardly as common as candles on a cake or singing a birthday song, it's a tradition that can be found in pockets of Atlantic Canada, particularly Nova Scotia, and in the Appalachian areas of the US. It's thought to have its roots in the UK, with variations of the custom being found in Scotland, Ireland, and England.

Since I'm lucky enough to have a fairly far flung and international circle of friends, I have two questions for you this morning. First, have you ever heard of this custom (or had it happen to you)? Next, what birthday or other holiday customs do you have in your family circles that are, for the want of a better term, unique?

Thank you again for your patience as I wander quite so far afield in my archives . There are two days left and then I'll explain where I'm going with this. As I promised my Maine/New England friends tomorrow's P3 entry will be Finest Kind ... and, as I have been known to observe, the adventure continues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.