Lockdown 2 Day 24

It seems the Royal Mail has run out of stamps.


I didn't get out today, so it's a boring EB, but there is a story behind it.

We have always sent out lots of Christmas cards;  it is a convenient and personal way of keeping in touch with friends and family, particularly when travel restrictions this year mean we have not had the opportunity to meet up in person as we might have hoped.  The continuing corona virus restrictions mean we won't be able to deliver by hand cards that we normally would, so we will be relying even more than usual on the post.

For this reason I ordered stamps on line from the Royal Mail.  I ordered three items, and the total price was sufficient to give me free delivery.  They obviously feel that a package of that value could justify free delivery.  So I was a little puzzled when, a couple of days later, one of the items (the book of 1st class stamps) arrived on its own, with no mention of the other two items.  It was elaborately packaged in the way I think they normally deliver sheets of special issues to collectors, to ensure they arrive without damage.  It was excessive for everyday stamps.

Several days later, I received another package, with the 2nd item (a sheet of stamps) also elaborately packaged and, again, no mention of the 3rd item.  Any benefits of delivering multiple items in a single package have now long been lost.

Several more days later (this morning) I received an email to say that my third item (another sheet of stamps) was out of stock because "high demand for this product has significantly exceeded our expectations".  As I said, the Royal Mail has run out of stamps.

Hopefully they will soon print some more and send me the rest of my order.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.