A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Advent Sunday

It begins ....
Today is Advent Sunday, the first day of the church calendar so - Happy New Year!

I took this at 7.30 this morning and as you can see it was so dark and gloomy so I decided to get my advent lights out straight away. This is the third reincarnation of these ‘Scandi’ style lights. The first set I had were a gift from a friend who was living and teaching in Germany at the time. She always called to see me on her way home for Christmas having returned to England via North Sea Ferries. Another gift she brought me came out today, an Advent Crown. The original candles were used long ago and they are now replaced by fancy tea lights which I don’t light. There is a a Christmas tree, snowman, Santa and a snowy chalet/ cottage.

We had our Advent service today on Zoom. The Advent candle was lit but not quite the same as being in church to see it though the Advent hymns were lovely, including one of my favourites, O come O come Emmanuel.

I put my illuminated star up in the bedroom above this too, it certainly seems to the right time for additional illumination.
December on the horizon so more decoration will be coming out including the tree. The things I’ve put out today are in our over stairs cupboard on the landing so easily accessed by me, the rest is stored in the loft, I’ll have to ask someone nicely to get them down! Maybe tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.