Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Duck!

After a nice long chat with my parents, I decided to head out with my camera for a while.  I drove over to a park about a half hour away where there are (almost) always Green Winged Teal in the winter.  It was sunny and in the high 50's so it was really pleasant being outside.  I sat myself on a dry patch and waited patiently for the shy teal to venture out into the open.  They didn't cooperate quite as well as I'd have liked, but with a heavy hand on the crop tool, I had my blip.

Green winged teal are very small ducks, but I think both males and females are really attractive.  This male is in breeding plumage with his rust and green head, delicately patterned body feathers, and buttery colored butt.  The female (in Extra) is more subtle but equally beautiful, in my opinion.

This is the same park where my friends and I saw the lonely Canada Goose last week.  He was still there today, and being fed by someone.  He is still staying totally to himself and I am quite certain he is a domesticated goose that someone just turned loose in the park.  He seems to be doing fine and I did see him grazing so he's able to feed himself.  And, this park has a lot of human activity and no predators to speak of.  So I think he will be just fine.

Back at home, I broke down what was left of the turkey carcass and am cooking it up with onions, garlic, herbs and carrots to make turkey broth.  That will go in the freezer along with any meat I can pull off the bones and will probably be turned into soup next weekend.  

We are expecting a big storm to move in tomorrow with lots of rain and wind.  I have secured my hide (hopefully) so I may venture out to get some "birds in rain" pics.  Depends.

Hard to believe that this year is heading into its last month.  In some ways, it feels like the year just started and in others, it feels like the longest year of my life.  One thing is almost certain - the next month or two are going to be very difficult.  

So my words remain the same …. stay safe, be kind.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.