Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Work table

It's a bit of a mess but everything has a function in making the car mat.

Each of the 4 drawers piled up at the back have reels of cotton - many of which are very old - in a large variety of colours which I have inherited/acquired over the years.  They are largely sorted by colour, so when I need a colour, I just pull out the whole drawer.  And once on the table, it doesn't get put away!  The drawer full of embroidery threads has been put away several times, but I keep getting it out again. 

Lots of different coloured felts - again, many of these have been inherited/acquired over the years, but I actually had to send for some brown a couple of days ago, as I didn't have any of a colour I wanted.

Sellotape to fasten together the A4 pieces for each block.  Cup (now empty) for the essential copious supplies of coffee.  Tablet with the 100 page instruction booklet.  And last, but not least, the sewing machine.  This was an 18th birthday present, and is showing its age.  I'm having intermittent problems with the tension - not helped by the variable threads, some old pure cotton, some new polyester - it could do with a service, but I'll manage to make do until this project is finished.

I'm making slow progress with the play mat.  Some of it is very fiddly - hence the little scissors.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.