NOT ONE OF MY BETTER LUNCHES!

As I had rather a lot of carrots leftover from last week, and given that it is another damp, dismal and cold day, I decided that I would make some soup for our lunch today.  I got all the good, wholesome ingredients together, put them into my soup maker and then left it to do its thing!

I then decided it would be a good idea to make some bread rolls from a pack of Cheddar and Sun Dried Tomato bread mix I had in the cupboard as I thought they would go with the soup and wanted to see if they cooked well in my Remoska oven.  I think they needed longer than I cooked them for but as it was a bit of a faff to make them, I think we will stick to part-baked rolls or baguettes in future.

When the soup was eventually blended and put in front of Mr HCB, rather later than we usually have our lunch, he politely asked me if I had put peanut butter in it. I couldn’t lie especially as he had seen me put a couple of dollops in earlier and although he's not that keen on peanut butter, I thought he wouldn’t be able to taste it - but how wrong can you be? 

I thoroughly enjoyed my soup;  however, the rolls were a little doughy, but edible. In fact, I ate the soup and left the rolls whereas Mr. HCB ate the rolls and left the soup.  I gave some to Mike, next door, so it will be interesting to hear what he thought of it, and I have told him to be honest - I can take it!  It looks as if I will be doing a roast dinner tonight to make up for a rubbish lunch and the remainder of the soup will be on my lunch menu for the rest of the week!

“If at first you don't succeed, 
     you are running about average.” 
M.H. Alderson

P.S.  Many thanks for your kind comments on yesterday’s Blip - all of which were much appreciated.  I have just had a callback from my GP to discuss the pain in my hands - he suggests taking ibuprofen for 2 weeks to see if that will help and if not, then another injection might be on the cards.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.