TINY TUESDAY

After taking three painkillers throughout the day yesterday and also rubbing some magnesium oil into my hands, I slept all night and had no pain, for the first time for a long time, so I hope this continues.

There was a wonderful sunrise this morning, so after my shower, and as the sun was still shining, I decided to go for a walk over to my field with the express purpose of looking for something for Tiny Tuesday and I wasn’t disappointed.  I found this little slug crawling up the bark of a horse chestnut tree and although I’m not that keen on them, when they are somewhere other than our garden, I can cope with that!  This one was certainly a different colour to the black ones we usually find in our garden and from the slug trails I could see, they obviously enjoy going up and down this particular tree.  

Apart from the slug, the bark was a beautiful colour and I’m sure if anyone saw me, they might have wondered why I was standing there so still!  I have looked on the internet and think this may be a Dusky Arion slug, which according to Mr. Google, “Dusky Arion slugs are not considered a major pest, although due to their omnivorous diet has been known to cause damage within home gardens. However these slugs feed mostly on fungi, decaying or yellowed foliage and detritus.”  They may not look good, but at least they provide a good meal for birds, so this one may be gone the next time I go for a walk.

Going from one extreme to another, there are still plenty of leaves on the willow and the oak tree - see extra - but it was very wet underfoot - I really do need to get some wellies if I want to keep going over to my field through the winter months.

Thank you for your kind comments for yesterday’s Blip - Mike loved the soup, so I gave him another large bowlful for his lunch today - Mr. HCB says he will finish the rolls and have some cheese and pickle!

“In someone's darkest hour 
     your simple act of kindness 
          may imitate the sunrise, 
               and to sad eyes 
                    you become their only 
                         source of light.” 
Richelle E. Goodrich

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.