GRADUATION OWL

Our grandson, Josh, obtained his Bachelor of Laws degree this summer, but with all that’s going on, sadly, there was no Graduation Ceremony.

When I saw that my blip friend, Annieone, had made a Graduation Owl, I messaged her and asked if she had the pattern - and she very kindly sent it to me.  Strangely enough, although typing makes my fingers and hands ache, knitting doesn’t, so I have quietly knitted whilst watching television in the evenings and last week finished this Graduation Owl for Josh, which I hope he will like.  I have embroidered his initials and the letters that he can now use after his name, onto the scroll, to make it more personal, and if nothing else, it can sit and gather dust on his bookshelf!

Owls are considered to be symbols of wisdom and knowledge and I’m sure that Josh learned a lot whilst at university in Cardiff - where he is now doing a final year to gain his Master’s Degree and then hopefully he will become a Solicitor or Barrister.  Having worked for most of my life in a Solicitors’ office, he and I used to have some good discussions and even arguments when he came home, although he could always think out more complex matters than I! 

It was sad too, that because of the Covid situation, Josh couldn’t get a work placement in a local Solicitor’s office - I well remember the students who used to come into our office - the first thing they needed to learn was make the coffee and the legal work experience followed!  

I hope that things may change by next Summer when Josh finishes uni and that he will get a job - it is such a difficult time for all students at the moment, but hopefully once the vaccination programme is in full swing, we will see a difference in many areas of our lives.

“Wisdom is not a product of schooling 
     but of the lifelong attempt to acquire it.” 
Albert Einstein

Many thanks for all your kind comments on my slug and oak tree yesterday - it’s quite a cold, dull and dreary day again today, so not sure I will be going out for a walk because I find that the cold does affect my hands.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.