ADVENT ABSTRACT

I have really been enjoying Kathryn’s Haikus, so thought I would make one of my own today - but also wanted to do an Advent Abstract. 

It was very cold this morning, but sunny and when we were in the town centre earlier, I saw this beautiful piece of wall art, with the word “Hope” in the centre, emblazoned across the wall of an old cinema, which incidentally is now used as a Church.  

I’m not sure if it’s the same mural that was on the outside of the Debenhams store which closed some months ago, as I haven’t been down to that part of our town centre recently, or whether this is a new one, but I was pleased to see it, especially at Christmas, which is a season of hope for many, and not just Christians.

The Haiku came into my head as I was working on the abstract so I superimposed the name "Jesus", which is on a Christmas card received many years ago from a friend, using my Snapseed app, and this was the result, which I thought fitted in well as an Advent Abstract. 

In other news, we had an impromptu Blipmeet yesterday, when Heidi, of HeidiAndDolly, messaged in the afternoon to ask if we were in - not that we go out much these days - as she was on her way home from South Devon.  It’s not often that we have visitors popping in, so we were really happy for her to visit.  

We had lots of goodies to share - I had made a Mincemeat Cake and had some Dark Chocolate Lebkuchen Hearts and Heidi, having been away for a couple of days to a memorial service for a very old friend, brought some special little Christmas cakes and some Stollen - so we chatted and chatted to a background of Christmas Carols.  By the time Heidi arrived, it was beginning to get dark, so the tree lights and all our other twinkly lights were on and it was a very special time.  Heidi took one photograph, but I didn’t take one - I’m slipping!

Fifth Day of Advent
Hope came to this world
in the form of a baby
Jesus is his name
Maureen Iles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.