NOT SO MUCH "ELF ON A SHELF" BUT MORE LIKE...

...“Four in a Drawer” - with apologies to my lovely friend, Kathryn.

What do YOU do when you want something for a Blip and you don’t have it?  Do you phone a friend or do you do what I do and go knocking on our lovely next door neighbours’ door?

Given that I only looked at today’s Haiku after we had eaten last night, I didn’t have time to phone a friend, so just popped over the way, under the carport, and knocked on Lynn’s door.  As soon as she opened the door and she heard me say “Lynnnnnnnnn” in that voice that means, “I want something that I haven’t got”, she said “OK, what do you want?”

I explained about the Advent Haikus and what I was doing but said I didn’t have any elves - actually, I must admit at this point, that we never had this sort of thing when our boys were growing up almost fifty years ago, and confess I don’t get the concept of an elf, doing naughty things, and in some cases, frightening the children into “being good” to get the presents they would have got anyway - but maybe that’s just me and I haven’t looked into it enough!

I digress - when I asked Lynn if she had an elf I could borrow - and believe me, if Lynn hasn’t got it, it isn’t worth having - she went upstairs and came down with not one, but four elves, so here they are, in my dressing table drawer.  As I said, not so much “Elf on the Shelf” but more like “Four in a Drawer” and I hope, if nothing else, they will make you smile today.  

You don’t have to “be good” today - just be yourself, be kind and loving to those you live with, those you love and those you meet - and above all, stay safe.  Have a wonderful Wednesday - and I think as it’s a wide shot, I will even tag this for Wide Wednesday!

Fourth Day of Advent
The elf on the shelf
is watching out for goodwill
to all sibling-kind.
Kathryn Epps

P.S.  No elves were harmed during the taking of this shot - but poor Mr. HCB was shaking his head a lot - which I think meant he couldn’t believe what he was seeing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.