CHRISTMAS CARDS

It’s interesting that many people seem to send us “religious” Christmas cards, probably because we are Christians and as I say to those who want to say “Happy Holidays”, there is a clue in the name of this season - CHRIST-MAS!

The media makes a lot of it, but I don’t believe that people are offended if I wish them a “Happy Christmas” and I certainly won’t be wishing anyone “Happy Holidays” just because they are of a different religious persuasion.  In fact, when I went over to our local Post Office a couple of weeks ago and got chatting to the young man who runs it, we chatted about Christmas, because I was sending something to friends abroad and he told me that although they don’t celebrate Christmas as we do, they still feel that love, family and getting together are at the heart of the time they spend with one another.

I must admit that most of the ones I send depict the Nativity, and I’m sure that none of our friends have been offended by that, even if they aren’t Christians - at least, no-one has ever asked me NOT to send them a “religious” Christmas card.  However, this year we (not that Mr. HCB ever writes any of the cards!) won't be sending that many, but will be donating to some smaller charities that often get forgotten, so if you don't get a card from us, please don't be offended.  

The beautiful card of “Madonna and Child” in my shot today came from a Blip friend and her husband in America.  It’s from a painting byJulius Schnorr von Carolsfeld - a German artist - 1794-1872, and inside she said that her husband found “this wonderful old-fashioned Christmas card...”.  I had to smile when the photograph transferred to my computer, because it is often clever enough to  suggest a name for people, but on the Madonna’s face it said “Unnamed” so I kindly told Mr. iMac that this was Mary, the Mother of Jesus!

Also shown is the Advent Book I am currently reading each morning and evening, entitled “A Child is Born” and also a beautiful book sent to us by Swiss friends some years ago entitled “The Symbols of Christmas”.  There are many symbols we use, year after year, including ribbons, holly, gifts, bells, carols, Christmas trees, wreaths and for our American friends, candy canes, but interestingly, it doesn’t mention cards!  However,  I am enjoying reading both of these, along with several other Christmas books that I have whilst listening to Christmas Carols.

It’s a  mucky day weather-wise today, so Mr. HCB is upstairs clearing out more of his old stamps from the collection he has amassed over the years.  We will take them into the DEBRA charity shop in Old Town and hopefully, they will get something for them.  I also found lots of very old documents with stamps on them, some over 100 years old, so hopefully that will make more money for this charity, which is the name of an international medical research charity dedicated to the curing of epidermolysis bullosa, a group of genetic skin conditions that cause the skin to blister and tear at the slightest touch.

Sixth Day of Advent
Christmas cards; simply
messages of hope, sending
love across the world.
Kathryn Epps

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.