LIGHT IN THE DARKNESS

We usually put the Christmas candle lights in our kitchen window but as we live in a cul de sac, no-one sees them, so this year I decided to put them in one of our back bedroom windows that faces out onto a main road, hoping they would be seen by passers-by. 

I was thrilled to receive a WhatsApp message from my friend, Gill, late last night - it said: 

“Thank you for lighting up my way home with your beautiful candles.  It cheers me on my way home after a long weary shift. It reminds that we are to be light in the darkness xx”

Gill is a carer for people in their own homes and travels quite a long way to do her job, often going out very early in the morning or coming back home late at night, so I am really pleased that our candle lights have blessed and cheered her - and who knows who else?  

On a dull, dank and dreary December day, I am reminded that Jesus, whose birth we celebrate at Christmas, is the "Light of the World".  We certainly need that light at the moment and then we need to be the light to those around us who are struggling at the moment.  

 “There are two ways 
     of spreading light: 
          to be the candle 
               or the mirror that reflects it.”  
Edith Wharton

Thank you for all your lovely comments about the Graduation Owl I knitted for Josh - I hope he may be able to pop in and collect it on his way home from uni in the next few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.