IT'S THAT TIME OF YEAR AGAIN...

...for getting out the electric throw and knitting fingerless gloves!

Mr. HCB is happy because if I put the electric throw on for just an hour in the evening, it means the heating doesn’t cut in and I am toasty and warm.

I was asked by a friend to make him a pair of fingerless gloves, which I did and posted them off to him - not sure he’s got them yet because of the postal strikes, but hope he will be happy with them.  

I have made another pair as a gift for another friend and found my thumbs and wrists were quite painful, but as you know, I’m quite determined, so will keep going - and now on my third pair in a week.  I do have quite a stash of wool, so knitting these should keep me going for sometime and will keep me out of mischief.

Just popped out to do a little shopping and it is FFFF-freezing out there - so glad to get home and have a hot cuppa with Mr. HCB before going out to visit friends for lunch - looking forward to it as our friend is from Mongolia and is doing a traditional Mongolian dish.

As I haven’t done any knitting for sometime, I decided I quite enjoyed it and what else is there to do while the football is on?
This quote typifies what I mean about football on the television!

“I am a knitting fool. It's a quiet pastime, 
     and a productive one. 
It enables one to join in the conversation 
     or switch one's brain off, 
          according to the interest 
or the excruciating dullness 
     of what is being discussed (or watched!) 
          and the product does keep people 
               warm and comfortable.”
Elizabeth Zimmermann : 
Elizabeth Zimmermann's Knitting Workshop Book

P.S. The extra shows the second pair of gloves I made yesterday.  If anyone wants the pattern, just email me and I will be happy to send it to you - it’s very easy.  M xx 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.