Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Saying Goodbye

I left home very early this morning to drive to Torquay in Devon. A very close family friend recently passed away and the memorial service was today.  The parents in this family worked with my parents in Switzerland and I grew up with their kids in the very first few years of my life.

I had booked a small independent campsite and of course I drove Alfie the Campervan. The campsite is part of a small farm. The view was lovely as you can see. Unfortunately the facilities were NOT great. Terrible, in fact. Although I’d booked in for 2 nights I quickly decided that I’d only stay for a night.

The service was lovely - a real tribute to a wonderful lady who was like a second mum to me at a very young age. We were treated to a beautiful sunset which seemed even more special after the service.

After the funeral we gathered for a meal at a nearby hotel. The picture on the right is me with the husband and son of the family. It’s been many many years since I’ve seen them - over 20 years for the dad and almost 50 years for the son. There’s also a daughter who I was close to growing up and have seen several times over the years. She now lives in the US and sadly couldn’t make it make the funeral.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.