THE LAST RUDBECKIA

What a lovely frost we had last night - Mr. HCB was quite happy because he thinks that it will kill off any bugs on the cabbages and sprouts - I certainly didn’t see any when I went out into the garden looking for a shot for today. I've put a shot of one of the cabbages in as an extra - doesn't frost make plants look pretty?  Of course, the advantage we have is that being retired, we can just "admire"  the frost rather than rushing to get to work with all that entails!

When I first got out there it didn’t seem too cold, but after ten minutes, my fingers and toes were beginning to feel as frozen as the plants and by the time I came back indoors, I was chilled to the bone.

It’s also quite sunny but I don’t think the frost will last for that long once the sun gets onto the plants, so I had to take my chance while I could.  Here is our last Rudbeckia, looking very pretty with frosting round the edge of the petals and I just couldn’t bring myself to change this to mono for the MM challenge today.

I wanted to get this posted early today because I need to go out to do some shopping and then we are helping at a Christmas Fair later.  I think it involves children, icing and biscuits - so it could be quite messy, but could be fun too - so please forgive me if I don’t comment very much.

We put up our Christmas tree last night together with the Nativity set, which will no doubt be blipped before too long and it’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas!

Today, when I opened door number 2 on my Advent Calendar, the Myton Hospice - based in the Coventry, Warwick and Leamington Spa area has benefitted and it said : “Today you have funded 40 cups of tea for patients and their carers at a drop-in session that provides support for the whole family.  We all know what a wonderful job our hospices do, so we are glad to have helped in some small way today.

“A kind gesture 
     can reach a wound
          that only compassion
               can heal.”
Steve Maraboli

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.