SUNLIGHT IN THE CHURCHYARD

First things first --- NEIL DID IT.  He completed his November challenge. 1st November - 1 mile, 2nd November 2 miles and so on every day and today was the big one ... 30 miles.( 465 miles in 30 days.)    I  kept checking to see if his Strava stats were online and I was getting a bit worried when nothing was coming up but finally they appeared.  He had taken almost 6 hours to do the 30 miles.  As you can imagine he's shattered.  But its over and he has raised £2,720 so far for the Newcastle foodbank.  Amazing achievement and I'm so proud of him.  He knew it would be a tough challenge but he didn't realise just how tough it would actually be.  How he motivated himself to turn out every morning in all weathers I have no idea.

Thanks to my blip friends who have donated to the foodbank fund.  If anyone else would like to donate please click THIS  link to Neils Fund-raising Page.  Any donation will be gratefully received.

I was intending on have a quiet day just pottering and popping down to the local shops but I got a call this morning from my dentists.  A few weeks ago I made an appointment to have a filling - it was for this Thursday ( earliest one I could get ) However they had a cancellation today and did I want to go in  at 1pm.  I decided to take the appointment  Not an enjoyable experience ( and it cost £88 ) .... and the dentist says I need another filling so that's something to look forward to next week.

So I came out of the dentist with a numb mouth to find it had started to rain. The Mono Monday theme is " patterns, textures, and shapes in the landscape to show the effect of light "  so I needed some sunshine for my blip shot.  I decided to go the the churchyard as planned and hoped the rain would stop.  By the time I walked down the path at the back of the church there was some sunshine  highlighting the gravestones on the right.  So I've made that my blip shot.  Thanks to  GadgetKid for hosting this week

Musical link  SUNSHINE IN THE RAIN - by Kelli Ali

 After getting my blip I went to Tesco, Herons, the Post Office and the Bank.  I met one of Becky and Neils old primary school teachers outside Tesco.  I haven't seen him since before March - even though he lives quite near to me..  He's finding this Covid situation tough.  He lives alone and in a normal year he would travel extensively.  He loves going to different countries and absorbing the local culture and he's missed all that. ( In fact when the pandemic started he was on a trip to the Middle East and was stranded there for a while before being specially airlifted home - at great cost to himself. )  So he's not a happy bunny.  But it was nice to see him and have a catch up. ( I think he enjoyed having a good old moan )

Steps today - 9,052

CORONA CLASSIC - Berlioz: Grande Symphonie funèbre et triomphale

Thought I would choose something triumphant in honour of Neil.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.