Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Mono Monday: Light

I am hosting Mono Monday this week. I will aim to award hearts on Thursday. I can see we've already had over fifty entries, so I'm looking forward to going through them. :))

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Now to record the day...

My extra was supposed to be my picture for today. It is coming up to National Day and the UAE flag is everywhere. I can't remember seeing it draped over this iconic hotel before though, so a picture had to be taken for posterity. Clear as the day was, the lighting wasn't anything spectacular, so I'm posting a picture taken around sunset of the building I have called home since 2012.

G has a very short day on Monday so was finished by 10:30. We headed to ACE to have a look around. There are a few BBQ accessories that we're looking for but they only had one thing. We moved on to Festival City to enjoy a drink and croissant at Godiva. What a place! G had a hot chocolate and I tried their Espresso Choco. The sheer decadence of it meant we skipped lunch and went straight to dinner for the next meal!

In between, Carrefour had an aisle full of BBQ stuff as it is finally outdoor season here. We got two of the things we're looking for. Back home and I had a message from the guy who processed my eLife application to say I need to phone and cancel my old account. I duly followed instructions only to be told a whole different scenario of what would have been my best course of action. I, er, made my thoughts known about how bitty the entire process had been and how no-one seems to really know what the deal is let alone do the best for the customer. It was highly recommended that I dial another number and lodge a complaint, so reluctantly, I followed that instruction too, not expecting much.

To my surprise, the person at the other end understood the scenario and even informed me that I have 14 days to raise concerns about my new contract. Contract? What contract? I suppose if the salesman had taken the trouble to give me a copy, I would have known what I signed up to! Based on the fact that he didn't, I had grounds to complain and terminate it! I wonder how many other people know that.

Precious time got wasted lost but I think I might have got a positive result in the end, and highlighted the inadequacies of the system. In trying to speak to a human when I dialled 101, I mistakenly lodged a "technical" complaint. This resulted in a visit by yet another technician in the evening. (They're prompt on that front.) He was smart and knowledgeable and understood the system. They could do with cloning him!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.