Consigned to Winter Storage

I bought these ornamental pumpkins back in October but have only now found the time to photograph them. It was a big mistake not to treat the hessian which should have hung naturally rather than stand in giant creases.

It's taken so long partly because I needed to set everything up in the garage. A backdrop stand, the picnic table, two bags of dried leaves and conkers plus the continuous lighting. And I needed Len's help to set everything up because my hands are too weak and painful. I managed to clear most of it all away afterwards so that Len could put the car in the garage. Len helped me with the stands. It would be so  nice to have a large studio.

I wanted to achieve a look of low angle lighting which was why I used continuous lighting rather than natural light.

I'm not happy with it. Apart from anything else, the hessian spoils it.  The green pumpkin had started rotting at the core. I threw it over the garden gate after I'd finished and it split in half, spewing seeds and fibres on the path. It will make good food for wildlife.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.