Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Saving One Hundred Pounds

It was another working day, in the house all day, following up Covid cases and discussing proposals for events in the run up to Christmas.  People seem desperate for some normality, even if it is a drive-in school concert on a market site in our district!

It had started with messages on Facebook's Blipfoto Friends group about problems with this site.  We are really fortunate to have a Technical Director in Annie and our technical guru for sorting things out quickly, once we were aware of the issue.  I'm only sorry we left our members in other time zones hanging for a little while.

After work I had the challenge of repairing our oven.  Many people admire our oven, a Slide-n-Hide oven seen on a certain Bake Off programme.  Can't say I've ever watched it but the convenience of the door sliding under the oven cavity has certainly made removing hot baking sheets a breeze.  

Well that was until the door broke.  We'd already made a call to the company for an engineer to repair it, but I did some research, found I could get the part that had broken and decided to give it a go.  I kept the appointment with the engineer in place just in case.  From my research I knew this could be really fiddly and unfortunately I didn't have a You Tube video to fall back on to guide me through the process.  I therefore decided to video my own efforts as much as anything so that I knew which way everything was supposed to go back together.

This is a very low quality screen capture after I fitted the side rail that took the rollers that allow the door to slide under the oven.  Everything went well, no problems and 10 minutes was all it took from dismantling to reassembling with the replacement part.  Phew!

I'm even going to post the video to You Tube as I've found these 'How to' videos invaluable in the past for a myriad of different problems.  A little bit of giving back.

I'll say one thing, the ingenuity and engineering of the mechanism that allows the door to slide and hide is brilliant, though why a piece of plastic moulding should fail after just 4 years is beyond me.  At least if it happens again I will be confident I can save on the cost of a call out of the engineer.

p.s. if you’ve got this far you might just want to pop over to Annie’s (and Chris’s) journal.  She reminded me this morning that we sent out our first post on Blip Central 5 years ago today.  I’ve had little time to reflect with everything else going on at the moment but I echo her feelings. You really are a wonderful group of people to help enjoy the community

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.