Snapped before they're snapped up

The garden is like an avian drive thru, the holly berries are on special and being snapped up so quickly there's no way there will be any left come Xmas but I'm happy to see them being enjoyed by the blackbirds. The birds are a bit fussy when it comes to fatballs ... They have'nt been touched, & will probably end up in the bin. I don't understand why. I'll buy another brand & try again. The sparrows & dunnocks clear up the breadcrumbs, the blackbirds are quite partial to a meal worm so I scatter some around in the mornings plus some apple. The peanuts seem to go mouldy before being eaten as well. I have a different supply to try so will be interesting to see if they are preferred.  There's a Sparrowhawk hanging around, I watched it from the bedroom window, eyeing up a Magpie foraging through the mossy growth on the roof tiles of the house opposite. The Magpie not at all threatened. In fact twice the Sparrowhawk attacked, without success.
Another glorious day, but a chilly wind.
I made room for the packets of flower seed in my crafting cupboard, then set about photographing the Beanie Babies I've had packed away in a box. Some might be worth a little bit so I checked out ebay. There are plenty on there so I'll watch how they sell before I decide what to do with mine. They were all the craze back in the late 1990's. We sold them in the gift dept of the garden centre where I worked. Customers would be phoning everyday asking if the new stock was in & if we had certain bears. Very clever marketing made them very desirable. The bubble burst ... I think I'll be lucky to get a couple of pounds each for them, at least it's the right time of year for moving them on, hopefully.
I uploaded some of my wildlife observations to the Project Noah website while browsing the Canon EOS Rebel XS/1000D for Dummies.
I should have written Xmas cards today as some have to go abroad but I'm not feeling at all festive. Maybe tomorrow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.