Gorgeous Fall Day!

I was so frustrated yesterday that I couldn't publish a blip - I tried for hours last night and finally gave up and went to bed. 455 consecutive days without missing a one 'till yesterday. Oh well, at least it wasn't my fault! Must have been something wrong with the server. 

At any rate, today I did errands in the morning, followed by an afternoon of FINALLY planting all the allium bulbs that I had bought mid-summer. It was a lovely afternoon - 55F/13C after a very frosty morning. I got all the bulbs planted and some cutting back of old plants. There's still some weeding and cutting back to do, but mostly I feel really great about the state of the garden.

This lovely fungi popped up in my garden, so I took advantage of my recent fascination with fungi and other small things and brought out the camera. I kind of like this one - it's rather atmospheric I think. Plant Snap says it's Armillaria mellea or Honey Fungus. If indeed this is one and the same, it causes root rot in many plant species, especially trees. Fortunately it wasn't near any trees. Its mycelium is bioluminescent! 

Happy Friday to you all! I'll catch up with your journals tonight and over the weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.