pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

The Drying of Paint

When I’m doing a “grown-up” job and the wee ones volunteer their help, I often feel guilty for turning them down and think that maybe I should do better at getting them involved.

In those rare moments where I do get them involved, I am instantly reminded why I prefer for them not to be. This morning for example, I was clearing the front room out in preparation for the long-spoken of paint job. The children had kindly offered their help in moving things and I accepted, inside of 60 seconds an argument had developed between them about who was moving what books, followed by The Youngest getting side-tracked and almost tripping us as she admired the pile of blu-rays I had stacked up. With my “no help please” guilt rapidly receding, it was time to get them to school.

Returning home from drop-off , the day then vanished in additional prep, putting holes in walls and then painting, painting and more painting. I eventually stopped at around 8pm and with no place else to sit, ended up eating dinner in bed and laughing like a loon at Gogglebox.

So focussed was I, that I only took this one picture. The colour should dry more like the lighter areas shown here.

Will try and get a more interesting photo tomorrow as the irony of posting a blip that is quite literally about as interesting as watching paint dry is not lost on me…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.