Burlingham Woods

After a rather wet week, not surprisingly it was very muddy underfoot.  We only did about 5 kilometres, but it felt twice as far as every step was so treacherous.  But we were lucky with the weather.  When we woke this morning and looked at the forecast, rain was predicted as likely at around noon, but it was meant to be dry this afternoon.  So we had a leisurely breakfast, thinking we would let the rain pass through.  In fact, it never did rain, though it was looking distinctly iffy when we set off to drive to Burlingham woods.

In fact, we had a lovely walk in mixed woodland.  It was quite busy, with several groups enjoying picnics - as we are in Tier 2, any social contacts have to be outside at the moment.  I commented to W that I very much doubted that it would have been this busy last December, and certainly I think it highly unlikely there would have been any picnics.

I wondered why - since we have been confined to Norfolk most of the time since March - it had taken us so long to start exploring our local walks.  I think there has been - for me at least - an element of "oh, it'll all be OK soon", and although I would agree, and even say to other people that it was unlikely to be "all over by Christmas", I just really hadn't internalized it.  So apart from our couple of trips away, we spent most of the summer in and around the house and garden, saying that was all we really needed, and we were quite happy.  A few weeks ago, it all caught up with me, and I've been pretty fed up.  These little local trips out - even though just for a couple of hours - are making a difference.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.