Out

I had an active day.

It started with my usual excursion to Falkland to buy food and have a coffee. The weather was still dreadful after a night of thunder, hailstones and rain, but I was ready for it (4 layers) and enjoyed my outdoor relaxation. 

In the early afternoon I was determined not to be trapped in the house, and the weather had dried up, so I drove west to Culross. I had a walk around the village (the palace is closed for the winter) and then stopped for another walk in Limekilns on the way back.  

Then I made Turkish lentil soup when I got home. I used a recipe I found on Youtube (link) last night. It is delicious. It is also quick and easy. Cheap too, because I had everything already except the potato and onion. 

Lentil soup is just about ideal comfort food to compensate for wet, dark December in Scotland. 

The Blip is the Culross Palace. One Extra is my - now traditional - Saturday morning coffee. The other is the view to the east from Limekilns. The port at Rosyth is now temporary home to 3 or 4 redundant cruise ships. 

Just behind the cruise ship in shot are 5 old nuclear submarines, being left to rust by the UK Government. I believe the reactors have been removed but the boats are still so contaminated they do not really know how to scrap them safely - or maybe it is just too expensive. 

Anyway, it must be perfectly safe.  

Soup

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.