Misty Reflections

Having hardly left the house yesterday I was determined to walk today. It was an "atmospheric" day but wasn't actually raining so I decided to head off into the forest behind our house, walking up to a small lake in the hills there.
Walking in this thick mist has its charms. I spend more time looking close by because the distant isn't there. Sound has a different quality too. If I stop and listen I realise it isn't silent. I hear a continual rain of drips as the trees gather water from the mist. I can even hear traffic from the main road 3 km away. Sound carries in the mist, but it loses direction.
Using my newly reconstructed camera felt good and I had a fine collection of mist+dark forest photos when I got to the lake. But as soon as I saw this old friend I knew what my blip was going to be. This tree toppled into the lake, became waterlogged and sank, many years ago, but the water is shallow so these branches have remained sticking up above the water, ice, or snow, creating patterns and reflections for the delight of any of the very few people who walk by. I've photographed this tree many times, and I'd be surprised if it hasn't already appeared on Blipfoto.
The extreme stillness of the water, and therefore clarity of the reflections, is partly down to the lack of wind but mainly because there is a thin layer of ice over the lake which is now covered in 2 or 3 mm of water. In the extra you can see a crack in the ice, as well as some airbubbles trapped under the ice.
The rest of the day went well, time chatting to the Blackburn relatives, some WhatsApp conversations with various groups, and a very nice dinner of soup and sausages. The day was a good mix of quiet and active.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.