JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

A morning's walk

This Weds I'm due to lead a walk for the small women's walking group that I belong to. We usually do a walk once a month, weather and Covid context permitting.  We missed out Nov, of course, so this is the first one in a while.
I'd decided on a walk along the Loxley valley, then up through some woods and fields in a circular route back down to the river. This would give us quite a lot of shelter, in case of bad weather, and some interesting bits of industrial archaeology along the way.
But I needed to walk it myself first, to check that it would all work, and I wouldn't get us lost. Richard, meanwhile, was spending the day on a trip into Leicestershire, to take his niece to a hospital appointment. So this was a solo outing.  After a very overcast start, the light gradually strengthened and I was free to linger over the tiny details of walls and trees to my heart's content - the big advantage of walking alone.
There's some info about the valley here, not least its claim to fame vis a vis Robin Hood (on which I'm not taking sides...)
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Loxley,_South_Yorkshire
There are some more glimpses in the extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.