The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Lighting up time

I bought this lights-in-a-bottle decoration from the Christmas shop at work. By the time I left there, well before five, the fog had closed in and it was difficult to see down the drive. Rooks were cawing ominously in the trees. I felt as if I had wandered on to the set of a gothic horror film.

First stop after that was the Five Valleys Shopping centre where I had arranged to meet a friend for a hot chocolate. I chose this place instead of a cafe because the cafes tend to close at five. However, she wanted to drink in a sort of empty shop unit to get away from the 'muzak', which I didn't mind. The empty shop was echoey and she didn't like the teenagers(!) whereas I didn't like the lack of ventilation. We moved back out to the tables in the dining area, but by that time the shopfitters had started sawing, because some of the units are still under construction! We gave up. I went to the post office and friend cycled home.

After completing my errands, I shuffled home through the Dickensian gloom and settled down for an evening of feeling tired. I wish I could remember what it is I am supposed to be doing now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.