The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Nothing much else to blip today

Storm Barra arrived. I was in nursery. A terrific downpour at lunchtime seemed to be the highlight. Fortunately it had eased off when I left at 1.30.

A text from my afternoon boss begged me to get the wherewithal for making gingerbread men with the boys. My break was therefore cut short by shopping and researching recipes online, but I managed a cup of Earl Grey in a cafe. The boys were on good form, though they're really only interested in the rolling-out and cutting stage of making gingerbread men. One of them likes to hang around the table pinching chunks of dough off the ball, claiming they're 'just crumbs!' The other tried to eat a spoonful of baking powder. The older child is not bothered, really. I'm glad to say that despite everything, which included a fight over Christmas baubles and one of the twins getting completely covered in flour when I had to leave him alone in the kitchen for a moment, the gingerbread shapes turned out very well.

I left earlier than expected and got home to our guests. They'd got supper ready for me, which was fabulous, as I had a webinar. The internet had gone down, but G lent me his iPad, which was tethered to a phone with data. Eventually I managed to fix our part of the internet, and the rest of the evening passed agreeably.

We're now waiting for midnight second surge of Storm Barra. Gale force winds are expected, apparently.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.