Silhouetted

A fairly busy day, with not too much time or opportunity for photos. However, Mr A drew my attention to the sunset (at, of course, some ridiculously early hour), so I popped out on the balcony and took a few photographs. We're at the time of year, now, when both the sunrise and the sunset are clearly visible from the balcony (when they aren't occluded by clouds, of course). It's one of the few advantages of being in the middle of winter. Not long now, though, before we start the upwards curve in terms of light.

I popped to the gym at lunchtime - that felt quite improving. And sorted out a difficult reference letter I had to write. I was briefly distracted by the arrival of some men and a digger in the demolition site over the way. They are right at the other side of the site, and we wondered whether they might be archaeologists digging some test pits. They were too far away for us to be able to see what logos they had on their hard hats or hi viz jackets. Otherwise, I made steady progress. And then, in the evening, book group, where there were divergent views of the book, which I had experienced as a piece of nonsense that helped me when I was having trouble sleeping a couple of weeks ago. Others, notably C, felt much more strongly about it.

As most days, a parcel arrived. This time it was the Robert Blomfield book of photographs of Edinburgh. I loved the exhibition, which we went to see in January 2019. I'd have bought the book then and there, but it's only just come out. No hesitation in buying it. After book group, I sat in bed and went through the pictures savouring them one by one. I'll be taking several looks at them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.