Cakes!

The Christmas cakes are finished and I'm hoping the icing will harden enough to be able to post without being like a rock!
I busied myself all day and it felt good to get some more things ticked off my list.
As well as the cakes, I finished making all the Christmas cards that need to go off in the post. I made a fish curry for dinner, actually it was just for Barry in the end as it was too hot for me, but that's fine. It means I won't have to cook from scratch tomorrow as there are leftovers! I shopped some more online for gifts and found some lovely things that I would not be able to buy locally but hopefully supporting a small business or two online at least. 
There were quite a few phone calls regarding the funeral and associated business that has to be done but we're dealing it with it all with far fewer tears now.
I'm having to sort out a new mobile phone for mum as hers is on its last legs and she has a ridiculous contract with EE that does not suit her needs, which she's had since 2016. I telephoned them and although the chap was very pleasant it seems they want her to upgrade to something not at all suitable and they won't let me do it either, despite explaining that I have all the details and am dealing with mum's affairs now she is 91. We've had a family discussion through our WhatsApp group and decided to start from scratch with a new deal elsewhere and we'll distribute her new number everywhere it's needed. Mum is happy to go along with what we decide.
I finally sat down with a cuppa at 8pm to watch Kirstie's Homemade Christmas, which is definitely not as good as previous years because of the restrictions they have had, but it's a nice way to end the day.
Tom, younger son, sent me a photo (extra) which made me smile. They buy a real tree every year from the same company. It arrived the end of last week but while leaving it to stand and watering it, a deep split developed from the base right up the trunk. They contacted the company who sent out another immediately. They decided that the opportunity to have two trees this size is unlikely to happen again so are keeping them both. He says the the living room looks and smells like a forest. Luckily they have a large room!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.