New tree

Ailie said I should have a tree to cheer me up’. I was actually quite cheerful till she said that. I wasn’t going to bother as we’ll have nobody in the house over Christmas and New Year so all the hassle didn’t seem worth it. Then when Ella found out she was quite upset so yesterday I bought this twig thing in a local tat shop and today I added some old baubles. It’ll do.

I had zoom book group this morning. “The Night Circus” by Erin Morgenstern. I was dreading it as it is fantasy which I don’t enjoy but it was quite entertaining and a good choice for Covid times. The characters were wooden but there was delightful magical imagery.

Then I embarked on the arduous culinary event that Ottolenghi demands. This time it is Aubergine Dumplings in Tomato Sauce as recommended by Andrea, my friend and owner of over 100 cook books. It is a very calorific recipe with lots of olive oil, Parmesan and ricotta. Also LOTS of garlic. There’s probably enough for 8 people. There’s also kitchen carnage. It required 2 baking trays, 2 frying pans, 4 mixing bowls, a grater, a measuring jug and assorted implements. Oh and a dish to put it in the oven. The butler will be busy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.