Ingleman

By Ingleman

Santa's Church

5 mile walk today, with the highlight for me being a browse around St Nicholas' Church, Codsall. A listed building, it is mainly  a 19th century rebuild, but still retains a 12th century doorway, and the tower is 14th century.
For me it is special. Very, very special.
My wife and I were confirmed here. As a boy, I sang (ha!) in the choir. My wife and I were married here, and our kids were baptised and confirmed here. My wife's three sisters were married here. As a photographer I have officiated at  innumerate weddings here.
My mum, who sang in the choir and attended church for over 50 years, is buried here. As is my wife's sister, Val. And my stepfather's ashes are here.
I served for a while on the parish council and was an active member of the bellringing team for a number of years. It's a wonderful welcoming building and is supported by a strong and active congregation.
As I say, very, very special. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.