But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Graffiti.

I can only offer an emergency blip today, it was taken at the Curling Pond while out with three unruly dogs. Millie and Dixie had to remain on their leads and were trying to pull me into all sorts of interesting places while I was trying to operate the camera with just the one free hand. I think the tree is a beech, but then I'm not good with deciduous trees in Winter and, at my time of life, can't remember what the individuals looked like in the Summer. I think all the marks here were carved out many years ago with a pen-knife and somebody's initials seem to be involved in the grand design.
The third dog was Hamish, a very bouncy Staffie cross. Merlin had to stay behind and wait for Mrs TD to take him out separately, his presence would have been the straw that made me lose control of the situation. The two daxis are now back home so tomorrow I should be able to manage the two remaining animals and fit Meg in as well.

The afternoon was taken up with a U3A talk about the Northern extremities of the Roman Empire; very interesting, but I ran out of RAM to store all the information in my brain before transferring it onto the hard-drive. It falls upon my shoulders on the third Thursday of each month to set up the PA system and the visual aids so that our audience can see and hear the material on offer. The chair-person (I hate that expression, I much preferred the term the WI used to use of "Madame Chairman") gets a bit panicky if I don't turn up so she now emails me the day before to remind me that my presence is required. It's a racing certainty that without the prodding I would forget which would be a shame as the talks are usually interesting. Having said that, there are speakers who are quite capable of turning the most fascinating topic into a soporific experience.

Later the Cinema committee met to arrange the next diet of films to take us from Easter up to the Summer break; that all went very well, after five years we seem to have mastered the art of picking a balanced programme with enough popular films to ensure that we can bank a small surplus, we will soon need replace equipment that has either become obsolete or is worn out. We may have to meet again next week as there are always issues with licences that rule out some of our choices.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.