But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Happiness is a Big Stick.

This morning I woke up to my good lady wife wandering into the bedroom waving a couple of lit candles about; it was a scary sight, almost as scary as her waving a kitchen knife. Apparently we had a power cut, fortunately the Electricity Board resolved the problem before any damage was done.

The blip is of Hamish, a lively little number, a bit on the young side but is maturing nicely into a full bodied and nicely rounded animal.
Happiness is a big stick, particularly if there is someone is prepared to try and take it from him.
Now I have to be careful what I say, I was accosted by Mrs Merlin today, she was objecting to my treatment of her little boy yesterday, leaving him alone and abandoned in the house while the three visitors went off for a walk. Mrs M is the source of an excellent soup so her friendship must be carefully nurtured.

On a different tack, I do object to the poor command of the Queen's English exhibited by the press; I do take care when writing this humble journal to avoid grammatical errors and ambiguities, and I check my spilling most carefully. I do wish others would follow my example. My breakfast was spoiled this morning when I came across the following headline in the Daily Mail: "Holly Willoughby congratulates Fearne Cotton on the birth of baby live on 'This Morning'."
For those ignorant of British culture, Mesdames Willoughby and Cotton are presenters of popular TV programmes, one of which is titled "This Morning."
If you've not come across any of them, you've no cause to worry.

Post script: Looking at yesterday's entry, I find that gremlins have been at work and my carefully crafted text was randomly duplicated, some portions of it several times. The errors have now been corrected. My apologies, I have no idea how this happened, my regime of checking text at each stage should be an adequate safeguard; it is ironic that the mishap occurred after writing the above.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.