But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Crocus purpureus?

Having arisen early to take Mrs TD to the Ingliston quilting show (again), I then took Merlin down to the country park to blip some more fungi. Before we reached the known specimens we stumbled across these crocuses. They don't look showy enough to be cultivated so, although my wild flower bible gave an illustration with a pretty good likeness, their habitat is normally open grassland - these were in a wooded area.

The park used to be a carpet factory, I've posted a picture of part of a loom from here before (it's still there, decomposing nicely), but this particular area used to be occupied by workers' cottages. While the carpet factory closed in 1969, I can find no record of when the cottages were demolished, but I would guess that it was about 1960, I'll try to find out.

Anyway, it is quite possible that these flowers are left over from the cottage gardens, or even that there is a guerrilla gardener lurking around here.

Having blipped, I noticed a bird on a tree trunk a few feet away; it turned out to be a tree creeper - I've never met one in the flesh before. Of course, the camera was wearing the wrong lens and was still on the tripod so there was no chance of a photograph. I just had to watch and marvel as it scampered up the tree, before flying down to the base of the next one and scampering up that - it continued several more times in this fashion until it was out of sight.

When I arrived home, I Googled the bird to make sure of my identification; I landed on a wildlife photographer's website with dozens of pictures of the bird - in the middle of the collection was a photo of a young lady climbing a tree, apart from her Wellingtons, she was completely naked.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.