A poor substitute

This has been a week where having tomorrow off would be welcomed. Oddly enough, the pressure from new admissions has been much less with almost no admissions into the ICU. This has allowed more attention to the needs of those already in the ward.

For various reasons I’ve had inadequate sleep, and my low tolerance of the staff produced problems with unresolved illness, have together increased my tension. I’ve coped by reading journal articles, and taking photographs.

Unfortunately, I am also being inattentive. I arrived home from work to be greeted by Young L wearing a white linen shirt and one of his father’s ties. Looked very grown up when in fact he’s just 13 years old. Off to his school ball. 

I was asked if I had a tie slide. Initially found a stud which did work, and then in the last box of cuff links and stuff I found a tie slide I had bought in Shetland in ‘98, and completely forgotten I have. He was delighted and went off with his mother to the ball. 

That was when I realised that I had missed out on a perfect subject for today’s photo. He won’t come back here on his way home. Therefore I took the photo of the alstroemerias on the deck after we had finished our evening meal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.