Wild Wednesday ...

... first snowfall.

Shortly after breakfast I headed out to the grocery store to do a semi large shop.  It had been awhile since I had done this ... usually only picking up a few items here and there.  On the way to the store there were some snow flakes in the air.  I didn't really think much of it until I came out an hour and a half later to about a half inch accumulation on my vehicle.  Thankfully the drive home wasn't too bad even though there was some accumulation on the roads.  I couldn't call myself a former Upstate New Yorker if I let this little bit of snow frighten me! According to our local paper it's the first measurable snowfall since 1.9 inches fell on Jan. 18, 2020!

After putting away my groceries and having lunch I went out to the sunroom to get my SquirrelsEtc shot.  While sitting in the sunroom I decided to make my first snowman of the season ... squirrel sized.  The beautiful female Northern Cardinal (bottom middle) also came around whilst I was out there. 

The two left side photos were taken from the living room window before I went out back.  The upper left is a White-breasted Nuthatch that we usually have year round.  Although we seem to see them more often in the winter months.  

As this collage clearly is not SOOC I'm not going to tag this for my December SOOC challenge! And thanks to all that have joined in!

I've added an extra that I forgot to post yesterday.  This is a different variety of hawk than the Cooper's Hawk that I posted last week.  This is huge Red-tail Hawk that I often see flying above the house. This is the first time I've seen him/her in any of the trees in the backyard.  I hope that doesn't become a regular thing!


Pennsylvania COVID-19 by the numbers (12/09/20):
Positive cases in Pennsylvania  - 445,317 (one-day increase of 8,703)
Number of deaths in Pennsylvania - 11,762 (one-day increase of 220)
Cases in Northampton County -  11,226 (last death count was 348)
* Total case counts include confirmed and probable cases.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.