Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

More Dereliction...

First of all, thank you for the massive outpouring of love on my snowy woodpecker yesterday - took me by surprise and definitely put a smile on my face.

I was on a zoom call from 8-10:30 this morning - I'd agreed to facilitate a planning/brainstorming meeting for the Board of the county Chamber of Commerce and today was the day.  The group was very engaged and came up with a raft of really innovative and creative ideas, so job well done.  And, I enjoyed doing it - it's been a while since I've done a group facilitation.

By the time I wrapped up the call, the sun was in the worst possible place in the garden for photos so I decided to do wait a while and then take a drive.  Well, to be fair, I needed to pick up some bird see, too.  I've been meaning to take some shots of this building as well as a nearby farm that is starting to fall down.  The light really wasn't great on the farm, but I found that I liked the backlighting on this old abandoned house.  I did a fair amount of fartnarkling in LR with this, but am happy with how it came out.  I will probably try it again in morning light one of these days.  I have no idea what the history of this house is; as long as I've lived here it's been abandoned.  It looks to be in fairly good structural shape, but many windows have been broken and it's definitely derelict.

Thanks to Marlieske for continuing the Derelict Sunday weekly challenge - this is the nudge I need to get out and try my hand at some of the wonderful old farms and barns in my area.  

Over 3,000 people died in the US yesterday.  I almost can't comprehend this number - it is more than the number who were killed on 9-11.  And what is really shocking to me is that a lot of Americans have just become numb to it, preferring to complain instead about how "inconvenient" it is to wear masks, or how their civil rights are being assaulted by having indoor dining restrictions.  I'm at a loss to understand this - maybe its just a coping mechanism; maybe people have to focus on trivial things so as not to think about the staggering loss of life.  Meanwhile, all I can think about is all the families who will be setting one less place at the table...

So definitely take care of yourselves, stay safe, be kind, try not to judge.  And don't forget the chocolate!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.