Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Red

Having spent 11 days in South America not so long ago, I find that I am a little unimpressed with my yard birds at the moment.  For the most part, our winter birds are a rather drab lot.  But then there is the Cardinal, anything but drab.  I tend to overlook them at times because they are a bird I can see in my garden just about any day of the year.  But today as I snuck a few minutes in my hide, I watched this young male eating seads and thought to myself "what a beautiful creature and how lucky am I to see him all the time?"  

Obviously I cropped this a bit because I wanted to show the feather detail on his head as well as the dexterous way he is removing the shell from the sunflower seed.  It never ceases to amaze me the things birds do with just their beaks and tongues.  

Jax has been a good boy today - manageable periods of sleep and play.  And we took a short walk where he got to say hello to the big Siberian husky that lives on the street.  Simba is a such a well behaved dog whereas Jax is a hooligan right now.  But soon enough the obedience classes will start and we will be on the road to better behavior.  I hope.  

I had my left mammogram and ultrasound this morning - no results yet so I suspect I may not hear anything until Monday.  I really don't expect there to be anything, but will still feel better getting official word.  The radiologist doing the ultrasound took a lot of images, many more than usual.  

Dark with ginger today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.