Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Winter on the way

We had a dusting of snow last night and when I met my friends this morning for a walk, it was quite brisk. Later in the afternoon when Jax and I were walking around our property I realized that the trees are now totally bare, even the big old oaks. Signs of winter.

Hubs had to go into the office today so when I left to meet my friends I put Jax in his crate with a Kong and a greenie. He was so occupied with his goodies that he didn’t even notice me leaving. Which meant that I didn’t have heat him barking. And when I got home 3 hours later he was a squirmy bundle of puppy joy, thrilled to see me. That more than makes up for the days when he wears me out - puppy kisses are the best!

I forgot to mention that he had his first experience with chickens yesterday which was predictably hilarious. When I dropped my friend Barb off after our walk, I let Jax out on his leash and he immediately zoned in on all the chickens in their coop. All hackles raised to defcon 5 as he drug me over to have a look. The chickens all ran to the other side of their enclosure (having personal experience with a family puppy). That caused Jax to growl and then run as fas as possible away from the chickens, nearly yanking his lead out of my hands. It was pretty funny. He had hackles all the way into his forehead and most of the way down his tail - quite an impressive showing. He couldn’t wait to get in the car, away from the terrifying chickens. Puppy life.

Looking forward to the weekend with my besties. Peg arrives tomorrow night and everyone else on Saturday. Jax will be the recipient of lots of loving!

Dark with dried cherries today…

Xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.