Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Chuffed

That's me today - chuffed!  I went in for my first fitting for the scleral lens for my right eye.  It's a large, hard lens and not easy to put on the eye especially since I'm not a contact-wearer.  But, after spending over an hour with the doctor, we got the right lens selected and a prescription for it.  Now, I have to wait for the custom made lens to be sent to the optometrist.  From there, he will probably do some tweaks, but it is entirely possible that I'll leave the next visit wearing my new lens.  He also gave me a prescription contact lens for my left eye and it was perfect (also much easier to get in).  We are not going to try to adjust for near-vision at this time so I'll need to wear "cheaters" to read, but that's okay.  First step on a new journey with fully functional vision - woohoo!

This morning I loaded Jax into the car and picked up a friend and we all three went for a nice walk in the park.  Jax was very well behaved and even got to greet two big golden retrievers and several people.  We stopped at the turnaround point of the walk and sat for a little while on a bench overlooking the lake and a small private airport - Jax jumped up on the bench between us.  

No accidents in the house today - yet.  I really think that this sudden propensity to pee on his beds has to do with Charlie (our cat).  He and Charlie haven't settled into a comfortable relationship yet - Charlie is leery of Jax; and Jax remembers when Charlie whacked him at the top of the stairs (leaving the pup in a puddle of piddle.)  I had the two of them together today for a little while, letting Jax sniff Charlie while I talked softly to both of them.  We'll see. I'm feeling less defeated than I was yesterday.  

A brief visit to the hide was just the ticket when I got home from the optometrist.  Something about hearing the soft chirps and rustle of wings, even the sound of seeds cracking in tiny beaks.  It's very zen. Even had a fleeting look at a bluebird at the bird bath - a lovely surprise.

Dark with salted caramel today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.