Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

An Rare Inside Day

We finally got rain today. Even though it lasted most of the day, it amounted to a mere quarter of an inch. The weather woman said it would likely be the end of precipitation for the year. As a result, Tucson (airport) will record its driest year on record, going back to 1924 when 5.07”/12.88 cm fell.  This year:  4.16”/10.5 cm. Average precipitation for us is about a foot.

It was a good day to do a little cleaning. I have everything done except vacuuming and changing the bed. I also yanked the Christmas tree out. I got this far and then tripped and fell backwards in the living room. After my near fatal fall in February 2016, I am super conscious about avoiding a blow to my head, which I managed.

It’s really a strange feeling to trip and know you’re going to fall no matter what you do. As soon as my foot got caught and I began to lose my balance, the words f****, f****, f****, f***, f*** came out of my mouth in rapid succession as I seemingly twisted about and down in slow motion. In the end, I’m okay, but I hurt my hip and lower back. The scariest part (other than the actual falling) was not being able to get up or reach my phone for hours. Been icing my hip and have been using the heating pad on my back. I’m going to be sore in the morning but I expect by 5pm I will be pretty chipper.

Glad I got the cleaning done first. The tree was a bonus. I wasn’t exactly in the mood to get a great photo but this will do. Today was a FedEx three-fer. My new coffee pot arrived early enough for morning coffee, I expect to sleep better now that my cool mist humidifier is here and still in the box is my Birdhouse Café replacement.  Today’s glass is half full.   :-)

Thanks for your kindness yesterday. I hope to thank everyone personally as soon as I can.

PS   Yes, those are Ansel Adams photographs.  Yosemite Oak Tree in Winter and Denali and Mystic Lake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.