Comfort

Another day at the kitchen table strapped to my screens. Started with early meeting discussing some exciting possibilities but most of the later meetings less upbeat. Trying to simultaneously edit comms, answer emails and listen in to briefings giving gloomy news and forecasts.
At least Andy the decorator was here to do a few little jobs for me, including putting up my kitchen blind. He is so upbeat and chirpy (don’t think he realised I was ‘in’ meetings when I was at the computer...kept chatting away to me!)
My planned meet up with KO didn’t materialise...she called off at lunchtime but probably as well as I didn’t feel like going out. My hip is a bit better but still not right...can’t work out what on earth is wrong but it’s not painful just annoying.
Decided to put a rice pudding in the oven to cook slowly....proper comfort food. I sent a photo to the family and two of them ended up cooking one too! We’re all inordinately fond of milk puddings, and for the first time I made it in this old Pyrex baking dish that used to belong to V, their granny. She used to make macaroni pudding in it ....the only sort of milk pudding I could never stomach but which the kids love. She never got the hang of cooking pasta as a savoury dish (far too fancy and foreign!) but for some reason made a pudding with it, but I could never eat it. Still makes me smile remembering the kids’ delight when they visited her and she made it for them and I would pantomime my horror which they got to expect as an essential part of the ritual.
Long chat to K in the evening catching up, then to VickyG after we’d been texting back and forth for a while. She seems to be in a better place than recently which is good

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.