Flower Friday: Soft Focus Gypsophila

I so love the soft focus flower shots which blipper Rainie does (she sometimes calls them "smushy" - a lovely description!) that I keep wanting to try to achieve the same sort of effect myself. I hope that I maybe got somewhere close to her results here.

It's a tiny Gypsophila flower from a bouquet which my Dad sent for my Editor's recent birthday, photographed at wide aperture with the macro lens & extension tubes.

The flower is, of course, white but I photographed it under our warm white LED room lights. I was all set to correct the colour in Lightroom (the photo was taken in RAW) but I decided I liked the warm pastel colour so I left it more or less straight out of camera; the effect was much more harsh with the colour corrected.

Many thanks as always to our amazing FF host, BikerBear - seemingly it's exactly 6 years since she first posted a Flower Friday blip!

(PS Following Rainie's excellent critique in her comment below, I've changed the main blip for a less vibrant version - but the original is now here as an extra if you're interested.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.